3.06.2008

and now back to reality: c-484 passes second reading (updated)

Coffee break's over, everybody back on your heads.

As you probably already know, C-484, the fetal protection act, passed its second reading yesterday. The final vote was 147-133. The bill now goes to the House Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

Canadians who believe in choice and bodily integrity are furious that key NDP and Liberal MPs - including St├ęphane Dion - didn't bother to show up for the vote, or voted in favour.

The Rabble forum link above contains a list of Liberals who voted for the bill. I see my own Mississauga MP made that shameful list, the only female Liberal to vote yay. No wonder she never answered my letter.

If you search for information about C-484 online, only bloggers and activist organizations are writing about this. I don't see a single mention in any mainstream media.

Update.

Liberals who voted yes:

Raymond Bonin 613.995.9107
Bonin.R@parl.gc.ca

John Cannis 613.992.6823
Cannis.J@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Raymond Chan 613.995.2021
Chan.R@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Roy Cullen 613.995.4702
Cullen.R@parl.gc.ca

Sukh Dhaliwal 613.992.0666
Dhaliwal.S@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Albina Guarnieri 613.996.0420
Guarnieri.A@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Charles Hubbard 613.992.5335
Hubbard.C@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Jim Karygiannis 613.992.4501
jim@karygiannismp.com

Derek Lee 613.996.9681
Lee.D@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Lawrence MacAulay 613.995.9325
MacAulay.L@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Gurbax Malhi 613.992.9105
Malhi.G@parl.gc.ca

Hon. John McKay 613.992.1447
McKay.J@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Joe McGuire 613.992.9223
McGuire.J@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Dan McTeague 613.995.8082
McTeague.D@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Shawn Murphy 613.996.4714
Murphy.S@parl.gc.ca

Massimo Pacetti 613.995.9414
Pacetti.M@parl.gc.ca

Francis Scarpaleggia 613.995.8281
Scarpaleggia.F@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Raymond Simard 613.995.0579
Simard.R@parl.gc.ca

Lloyd St. Amand 613.992.3118
St.Amand.L@parl.gc.ca

Paul Steckle 613.992.8234
Steckle.P@parl.gc.ca

Paul Szabo 613.992.4848
Szabo.P@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Robert Thibault 613.995.5711
Thibault.R@parl.gc.ca

Alan Tonks 613.995.0777
Tonks.A@parl.gc.ca

Roger Valley 613.996.1161
Valley.R@parl.gc.ca

Tom Wappel 613.995.0284
Wappel.T@parl.gc.ca

Borys Wrzesnewskyj 613.947.5000
Wrzesnewskyj.B@parl.gc.ca

Absent: Dion, Bryon Wilfert, Volpe, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Mark Eyking, Ujjal Dosanjh (although present for other votes), Denis Coderre, Brenda Chamberlain, Gerry Byrne, Paul Zed. [Note: list has been corrected.]

This member of the NDP voted for the bill: Peter Stoffer. This was clearly not a whipped vote, and it should have been.

Thank you to people in Rabble.ca's forums for this info.

No comments: